Iverson: ‘My whole thing was being wanted’

30 Oct

LeBron James and Chris Bosh headed for South Beach, while Amare Stoudemire decided to star on Broadway.

Allen Iverson? He’s headed for Turkey.

“My whole thing was being wanted, being accepted by a ballclub. That was the most important thing,” the former NBA MVP said Friday, after signing a $4 million, two-year contract with Turkish club Besiktas during a news conference at the upscale St. Regis Hotel in Manhattan.

“I had a great time playing in the NBA. Who knows if I ever will again?” Iverson said. “But I wanted to show everybody I can play at a high level, not just the NBA.”

The 11-time All-Star waited all offseason for an NBA team to come calling, though none ever did. So while the Miami Heat stocked up with star power, and the Knicks added some front-line muscle, Iverson told his manager, Gary Moore, to begin looking at other leagues.

He ultimately decided the Istanbul-based club was the best fit.

“I feel like it’s a fresh start for me, and I just thank all these guys for giving me the opportunity,” Iverson said, “a chance to get back on track with my basketball career.”
via The Associated Press

One Response to “Iverson: ‘My whole thing was being wanted’”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iverson Arrives in Istanbul to a Warm Welcome « RUN JUMP PASS - September 23, 2011

    […] lustily regaled with fight songs and vocal enthusiasm from supporters. Iverson, who’s said he just wanted to be wanted, had no choice but to feel the […]

Leave a Reply

