Mike Tyson Elected to Boxing Hall of Fame

7 Dec

Mike Tyson was chosen for induction into the Boxing Hall of Fame on Tuesday, an honor for one of the best and most controversial figures in the sport’s history.

Also being inducted are three-division champion Julio Cesar Chavez, junior welterweight champion Kostya Tszyu, Mexican trainer Ignacio “Nacho” Beristain, referee Joe Cortez, and screenwriter Sylvester Stallone.

Posthumous honorees to include bantamweight Memphis Pal Moore, light heavyweight champion Jack Root and middleweight Dave Shade in the old-timer category; British heavyweight John Gully in the pioneer category; promoter A.F. Bettinson; and broadcaster Harry Carpenter.

Tyson, 44, finished with a 50-6-0-2 record, winning 44 of those fights by knockout. The heavyweight was the youngest boxer to hold the WBA, WBC and IBF titles at the same time and the only heavyweight to unify those titles individually before losing those titles to Buster Douglas in a massive 1990 upset.

The inductees were voted by members of the Boxing Writers Association of America and a panel of international boxing historians. The induction ceremony will take place on June 12, 2011.
Continue reading →


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: