Pistons to retire Dennis Rodman’s No. 10 jersey

11 Feb

The Worm will have his night at the Palace.

The Detroit Pistons announced today that they will retire Dennis Rodman’s No. 10 jersey during a halftime ceremony April 1, when the Pistons host the Chicago Bulls.

“I’m pleased that we are honoring Dennis for his accomplishments as a player and his contributions to the success of the organization,” said Joe Dumars, the Pistons’ president of basketball operations and a former Rodman teammate. “His jersey retirement is well-deserved.”

Pistons rookie Greg Monroe, who currently wears No. 10, will be allowed to keep the number the rest of his career. After that, it will be taken out of circulation.

But Monroe said before tonight’s game against the Miami Heat that he is considering a new number after the season.

“I’ve got a lot of time to make a decision, so I don’t know,” Monroe said. “I have the rest of the season. I can’t change it immediately. I definitely am aware of how much of an honor it is. I’m definitely considering changing my number, just out of respect. I respect the game. I respect my predecessors, so I’m definitely considering changing my number. But right now, I don’t know.”

Drafted 27th overall by the Pistons in 1986, Rodman was a key member of the “Bad Boys” teams that led the franchise to back-to-back championships in 1989 and 1990.

An elite defender and rebounder, he averaged 8.8 points, 11.5 rebounds and 1.3 assists while shooting 54% from the field in 549 games as a Piston.

Rodman led Detroit in rebounding four consecutive seasons (1989-93) and was the league’s top rebounder in 1991-93, when he averaged 18.7 and 18.3 rebounds per game, respectively.

He was a two-time NBA All-Star while playing for Detroit (1990 and 1992) and was named to the All-NBA third team following the 1991-92 season. Rodman was named the NBA’s defensive player of the year in 1990 and 1991 and also was named to the NBA all-defensive first team five consecutive seasons (1989-93).

“Individual accomplishments have never been a big deal for me as a player, but to be honored for my contributions in this way by the Detroit Pistons organization is truly humbling,” Rodman said in a statement issued through his manager, Steven Simon of Prince Marketing Group. “This organization gave me a chance to blossom, regardless of my size or what school I came from. My only regret is that the man that believed in me more than I did myself, Chuck Daly, is no longer with us. I’m sure he’ll be with us that evening in his own way.”
Continue reading→

Leave a Reply

