A World Without Fantasy Football

9 Mar

by Chris McCoy

All hope’s not lost yet for a full slate of games for the 2011 NFL season.

The owners and players have extended the deadline on the CBA negotiations for a second time, and the word on the street is that they will most likely extend the deadline again if they can’t reach an agreement by 5pm on Friday.

Patriots owner Bob Kraft is even chiming in from Israel saying that a labor deal is possible by Friday’s deadline.

The two sides are pretty far apart on a few issues, though, and the owners still won’t divulge enough of their financial information to the players. It CAN happen, but what if it doesn’t? What if they can’t reach an agreement this spring? I really don’t even want to explore that possibility in my mind, but I’m slowly coming to grips with the fact that I might have to. I’ve also come to grips with something else I need to get off my chest:

My name’s Chris McCoy… and I’m a fantasy football fiend.

Let’s face it, we’ve become a nation of fantasy fiends. According to a 2010 survey by Dave and Buster’s over 15,000,000 people play fantasy football during the NFL season, with many of those playing in more than one league. 15 Mil is 1 out of every 20 Americans! There are only four states with even that many people: Texas, California, New York, and Florida.

Ever used one of these??? Click to enlarge

Many people think that fantasy is destroying football, I beg to differ. What other reason do I have to watch the Browns play the Panthers unless I have Josh Cribbs and/or Steve Smith on my roster. Yes there are going to be some conflicts of interests, like my Niners playing the Giants in week 12 on Monday night, where I have the Giants defense and my fantasy playoff bye depends on them shutting down my team, but the Niners are fighting for a real playoff spot and badly need the win. Who do I root for? My team of course, fantasy is just that. Yet its great for the game of football because it makes fans more vested in the entire league, not just one or two teams. It gives me a reason to buy NFL Sunday Ticket or the Redzone channel.

Like it or not, fantasy football is a big part of the game. Players like Maurice Jones-Drew are even hooked.

So when we think lockout, not only should we be thinking about the missed games, we should be thinking about the missed stats, and how its going to suck not having that to brag about (best believe my Y! trophy case is NICE), having to actually spend time with your wife or girlfriend on Sundays, or having the script flipped on you and sitting at an Oscars party, only paying attention to the commercials *SHEESH*. My best-worst case scenario is that we only miss 2-4 games and have to rush to put our leagues together in September. If half the season is missed though, there may be no fantasy football in 2011… I highly doubt that though, as fantasy football is the biggest cog in a billion dollar fantasy sports industry, if there’s football, they’ll find a way to make it happen! HOPEFULLY… let’s hold our collective breathes.

One Response to “A World Without Fantasy Football”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing Like a Girl « RUN JUMP PASS - April 6, 2011

    […] attractive and physically fit women took the next step towards Professional Football glory. So if the NFL decides to lockout, delay, or even if they play… the Lingerie League is a sexy way to get your football and female […]

Leave a Reply

