Division III YouTube sensation earns spot in NCAA dunk contest

30 Mar

One of the Dunks from Turner's Video - a 360 between the legs jam (Click to enlarge)

by Chris McCoy

About three weeks ago, we brought you the video of Jacob Tucker’s NCAA Dunk Contenst audition; yesterday Tucker received the invite he sought when he put the tape together after winning a Facebook fan poll. Shoot, I even voted for the man, and apparently I wasn’t alone as he received an astounding 88 percent of the vote to defeat Rico Cunningham for the final spot in the competition.

“It was a weight lifted off my shoulders,” Tucker said of the invitation. “I was really excited. I was running around the room. Anytime there’s a competition, you never know. They weren’t showing the number of votes, so I didn’t know what it was. To get 88 percent, that is crazy. That’s unbelievable. I’ve gotten so much support.”

I’m not surprised at all, I mean we are talking about someone whose “Audition Tape” has gotten well over 2.6 million views in less than a month! Rico (whose video did slightly under 12,000 hits) didn’t stand a chance.

It should be rather interesting to see the 5’10”-5’11” Tucker square off with the likes of Pittsburgh’s Gilbert Brown, St. John’s Justin Burrell, Memphis’ Will Coleman, East Tennessee State’s Justin Tubbs, San Diego State’s Billy White, Cincinnati’s Darnell Wilks and UNC-Asheville’s John Williams for the crown. With an estimated 50″ vertical I’d say although he’s the only non-D-I baller in the contest, he’s got to start off as the favorite… Somebody get me the line on Tucker to win it all!

How does he like his  own chances?

“I feel with the dunks I have practiced and the dunks I have in my arsenal I have a chance,” Tucker said.

So what can we expect?

“I’m not going to leak them out,” Tucker said. “I will say there’s a couple dunks you haven’t seen me do before or some you’ve never seen before.”

I guess we’ve just got to tune in and see, you can catch the contest on ESPN2 Thursday at 6PM PST (#ATP: All times Pacific ;)).

One Response to “Division III YouTube sensation earns spot in NCAA dunk contest”

  1. Karim March 31, 2011 at 7:02 PM #

    Yessssssss white men can jump!!!

Leave a Reply

