In My Own Mind…

17 Apr

In my own mind... this is how it goes (Click to enlarge)

By Chris McCoy

In my own mind, this is how it goes. No more playoffs for the Grizzlies, Nuggets, Mavericks, Hornets, Pacers, Magic, Celtics or 76ers after the weekend of May 1st. I have the Spurs in 5; OKC in 5; Blazers in 6; Lakers in 4…. Bulls in 4; Hawks in 7; Knicks in 6; Heat in 4.

A few things to point out, and then I’ll get out of your hair and let you see what some of the staff have to say. Boston without a healthy Shaq is going home early. We’re already hearing reports that he won’t play in game one, how healthy will he really be this post season? I don’t trust the post-Perkins C’s with no Shaq. Put my money on Melo, Amar’e and Big Shot Billups in six.

The upset that seemingly everyone else is picking? Portland over Dallas. Portland’s New Big 3 should be able to close out my second half sleeper in six. If Portland can steal one of the first two in Big D. Watch out.

My sleeper? OKC. KD and Westbrook are growing into one of the league’s best terrible twosomes, Perkins is providing leadership and defense, and Ibaka and James Harden are coming into their own. If LA slips up and hands OKC a game they should have won, you could see Oklahoma City in the Finals. For now though, I’m sticking with my preseason pick: the Lakers and Heat.

Amar Madyun: In my own mind… this is how it goes:

East: CHI in 4; MIA in 4; ORL in 5; BOS in 6.
West: SA in 6, LA in 4, DAL in 6, OKC in 6.

My Finals: Lakers v. Heat.

Jumaane Corley: In my own mind… this is how it goes:

East: CHI in 4; MIA in 5; ORL in 7; NYK in 6.
West: SA in 5; LA in 5; POR in 7; OKC in 7.

My Finals: Lakers v. Heat.

Karim Dixon: In my own mind… this is how it goes:

East: Spurs in 6; Lakers in 5; Thunder in 6; Blazers in 7.
West: Bulls in 4; Heat in 5; Celtics in 7; Magic in 5.

My Finals: Lakers v. Celtics.

Darius Barnes: In my own mind… this is how it goes:

East: CHI in 4; ORL in 5; BOS in 7; MIA in 4.
West: SA in 6; OKC in 6; LA in 4; DAL in 6.

My Finals: Lakers v. Heat.

One Response to “In My Own Mind…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stat of the Night: Memphis Is For Real « RUN JUMP PASS - May 4, 2011

    […] locked up their point guard, their small forward and their power foward… hopefully they have enough bread left to match offers for their center. What’s amazing about […]

Leave a Reply

