Dwight Howard To Enter Free Agency

15 Jun

By RJP Staff

In a recent interview, basketusa.com directed the following at Dwight: “After 13 years in the same team, Dirk Nowitzki finally won a title. This should inspire you …” His reply? “I will not wait 13 years to win a title with Orlando. At the same time, I want to win with Orlando. I think it’s not always about money but also competitive. I just want to be sure to do with the Magic.” He wants to win, AND SOON.

Howard told NBA.com on Monday that he will turn down Orlando’s two-year contract extension offer in favor of becoming a free agent in 2012, a move that Magic President of Basketball of Operations Otis Smith says he “expected.”

“I think free agency is a basketball player’s God-given right. It’s one of the things they bargained for, so I expected him to look at all of his options and become a free agent, if that’s what he’s going to choose,” Smith told the Orlando Sentinel.

With trade rumors swirling like an Alabama tornado, Dwight still remains adamant that he wants to remain in Orlando.

“This is how I really feel in my heart,” he told NBA.com. “A lot of people want to see me go other places, but I want to stay in Orlando. I have a beautiful home there. There are beautiful people down there. My son is in Orlando. He’s getting a lot older and I want to be there to see as many moments as I can of his life.”

Otis Smith know that he is going to have to make some roster changes to keep Dwight happy enough to elect to stay, though, as Howard’s hinted that the current Magic roster has some players who don’t give maximum effort.

“Sometimes guys are there whole-heartedly and then sometimes I’ve had teammates allow people getting in their ears and things like that effect the way that they play and approach the game,” he said.

“I want to win a championship,” Howard told NBA.com. “I think the owners have to really know that. That’s been my goal and my mission since I’ve been in the NBA — to win a championship. I don’t have side goals or agendas. My main goal is to win a championship. I want to have 14 other guys who feel the same way.”

2 Responses to “Dwight Howard To Enter Free Agency”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Thought #036: Teams Most Likely to Trade on Draft Day « RUN JUMP PASS - June 22, 2011

    […] a soul. It’s clear that Orlando’s GM Otis Smith needs to make some moves this offseason to keep Dwight Howard happy, so their lack of desire to fill out roster spots right now isn’t surprising at […]

  2. Gilbert Arenas and Dwight Howard Planking… Ron Artest… Not So Much « RUN JUMP PASS - July 3, 2011

    […] Athletes are even starting to plank. In the Gallery below teammates Dwight Howard and Gilbert Arenas are having loads of fun in their “plank off”. That’s a good sign for their chemistry. Dwight was quoted as saying, “Sometimes guys are there whole-heartedly and then sometimes I’ve had teammates allow people get… […]

Leave a Reply

