Wall Considering Pursuing Degree During Lockout

16 Aug

Wall finished second in the ROY voting to Blake the Great, averaging 16.4 points 4.6 rebounds 8.3 assists 1.8 steals and 3.8 turnovers

By Michael Lee for the Washington Post

While in Lexington on Monday to participate in an exhibition game between former Kentucky stars in the NBA and the Dominican Republic, John Wall told the Associated Press that he might actually take up Kentucky Coach John Calipari’s offer to return to school and continue his education while working out on campus during the lockout.

“I’m trying to see if I can take some classes on campus, and if the lockout ends I can finish online,” said Wall, who is pursuing a degree in business management. “I wanted to be the first person in my family to get a college degree, although I’m probably going to be the second one now. My sister [Cierra] is going to be a sophomore, so she’s ahead of me. Nobody had an opportunity to go to college in my family.”

Wall was a member of the Southeastern Conference freshman academic honor roll and completed two semesters and two summers’ worth of classes in his one season. Boston Celtics point guard Rajon Rondo, Philadelphia 76ers guard Jodie Meeks and Wall’s former teammates at Kentucky, Eric Bledsoe and DeMarcus Cousins are also considering using the lockout as an opportunity to pursue degrees.

“It will just feel like the college life all over,” he said. “It’s like I’m extending it into the NBA.”

Continue reading →

Leave a Reply

