Playing Like A Girl 2: My All-American Game Experience

22 Aug

By Tamar Faith

“If any of you make it to the All-American Game, I’ll pay for your trip myself.”

He didn’t know it yet, Ickey Woods would be shoveling out the airfare for my trip to the 2011 All-American game.

It had been my lofty goal since first hearing about it; but at the beginning of the season it seemed more like a pipedream then its now great and fond memory. My DB coach Lonzell Hill and I kept close watch of the Women’s Football Alliance stats all season. I stayed on the Top 3 for Individual Touchdowns and Rushing yards for the majority of the year, but the ultimate decision would depend on votes from opposing team’s coaches.

I ended up learning via Facebook that my teammate Tiffany Kraemer and I made the 2011 team. She earned 2nd team honors as a Linebacker and I would be playing in the All-American game as a First Team Tailback.

When we arrived at Pennington Stadium in Bedford Texas, we were greeted by the Columbus Comets coaches- who took on the responsibility of coaching the National Conference team. It was obvious from the beginning that most of these girls had played in an All-Star game before and/or spend a few years in the league. Not even an hour in, I was dubbed as the “lingerie girl” because of mentions of my participation in the infamous Lingerie Football League. This title came with questions, doubts, and side eyes. But I was determined to show them why I had been chosen as their teammate for the weekend. As a rookie, I didn’t completely understand all of the verbage. I’m sure that I annoyed a few girls by asking continuous questions. However, it was clear that I also impressed a percentage of them with my running. I returned back to the huddle with high-five greetings and some of the coaches suggested that I’d have a home on their team if I were interested in relocating.

What was that play again?

Getting prepped for the game I had very high expectations… my first play, however, lowered my confidence.

The quarterback never mentioned a formation in the huddle and a few other girls and I were scrambling just before the hike. This happened one more time during the first half – and as you can imagine, it affected my playing time; especially considering there were 6 other backs to choose from. Ultimately, I had a few good runs, but the game was hardly a reflection of the football season that had brought me to this point. The National conference led the game until the 3rd quarter when the American team scored. We responded and won the game 13-6.

The experience was mostly a motivating one. It was the first time all season I felt in some way inadequate – it will serve as motivation for me to become more educated on the game. I also had an opportunity to play alongside the girls who I had been gunning for all year. It was cool to get to know these ladies outside of their jersey numbers. As for me, I’ve only become more eager. I anticipate more Sizzle representation at next year’s All-American game and I hope to take the pride associated with the WFA into my upcoming LFL season.

Continue on to our interview with Tamar→

One Response to “Playing Like A Girl 2: My All-American Game Experience”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing Like A Girl 2: The Interview « RUN JUMP PASS - August 22, 2011

    […] Author Run Jump Pass ← Knicks Rookie PG Iman Shumpert’s Ill 360 Windmill Playing Like A Girl 2: My All-American Game Experience → […]

Leave a Reply

