Superman Admits Contemplating Flying Out Of Orlando?

19 Oct

Esquire‘s Scott Raab sat down with Dwight Howard for a candid conversation in the magazine’s new issue, and during their talk the Magic big man inferred that he’s been thinking about leaving Orlando once his contract is up.

Check out this excerpt:

SR: Do you think the players’ union can hold it together?

DH: We’ve got to. We’ve got to stick together. I know, as much as I try to do for the game of basketball and be an ambassador for the NBA, I don’t want my money cut short. I work hard. Not just in games, but off the court, too. When the NBA asks me to do something, I’m there.

SR: You’re representing.

DH: That’s my job, to motivate people. I can do more, show people more things. That’s really why I play basketball. That’s my whole purpose of playing basketball. I was supposed to be in the NBA. I was supposed to travel the world and make the world a better place.

SR: Do you think that the drive to represent, on an iconic level, will be a factor in your free agency? Do you see yourself in a much larger market?

DH: There’s more you can do in a bigger place. I’m stuck in a tough position because I feel like right now, where I’m at, I’ve done so much. And I just don’t know what else I can do. I can’t live for everybody else. I don’t know what decision I’m gonna make as of right now. It’s been crazy. Everybody wants me to come here, come play here, come to our team, do this. It’s a great feeling, though, to be wanted.

SR: You’re gone. I can feel it.

DH: The toughest part for me is the city — the people. They’ve got burgers named after me in Orlando, they’ve got a Web site saying, “Please stay.” I love the people in the city. I’ve literally sat on the bench with a towel on my head crying, because I feel the passion in the stands. I just think about what’s going to be best for what I want to accomplish in my life. And I don’t want that door to close on me, wherever that door is. I don’t want it to close. 

SR: Just don’t do it as an hour-long ESPN special. Please.

DH: That’s not me.”

Check out the full interview HERE.

One Response to “Superman Admits Contemplating Flying Out Of Orlando?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Next Shoe: The Nike Zoom KD IV Weathermans Featured On The @WeatherChannel « RUN JUMP PASS - December 7, 2011

    […] set to begin this Friday, not only can’t we wait to see where/if the likes of Chris Paul and Dwight Hoard end up getting traded; we can’t wait to see some of the kicks players will be rocking this […]

Leave a Reply

